1st March, 2018 · bulletin

Takata Compulsory Recall Notice –
Affected Brands

< 1 minute to read


Members should be aware that the Takata Airbag Recall is now compulsory, following the decision of the Assistant Minister to the Treasurer, Michael Sukkar. Included in the press release by the Assistant Minister, is a list of vehicle makes that include several brands not previously part of the recall and not currently listed on the ACCC Product Safety Australia web page.

The brands named in the Assistant Minister’s media release were Ford, GM Holden, Mercedes Benz, Tesla, Jaguar, Land Rover, Volkswagen, Audi and Skoda. This is in addition to existing voluntary recalls by BMW, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ferrari, GMC, Honda, Jeep, Lexus, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru, Toyota, Volvo and Hino Trucks.

It is important to understand that as it currently operates, the Product Safety web page reflects advice provided to the ACCC by manufacturers regarding the recall and this page may not represent a comprehensive list of all affected vehicle makes and models. Dealers are advised therefore to contact their franchisors to determine what makes and models are affected and what advice they should be giving to consumers.


Download Dealer Bulletin